2013: A Yogic Year in Review

28 Dec

OM

“Change is not something that we should fear.
Rather, it is something that we should welcome.
For without change, nothing in this world would ever grow or blossom,
and no one in this world would ever move forward
to become the person they’re meant to be.” Unknown.

The New Year is approaching. Time for the Year in Review!
As Miss Sophie in “Dinner For One”, I always follow the same procedure, except mine is different 😉 and includes: reviewing – assessing – setting new goals, which are key steps for autonomous life long learning!
Let’s rewind back to December 2012. I had been in Spain for six months, in Seville. Since I was afraid not to have a job, I had two full time jobs (I know I know!!!): as a Learning Designer for a big publisher and as a Chief editor of a magazine. Plus I was also squeezing in yoga classes too! Luckily for me, my partner was even busier, so at least my “reduced availability” wasn’t too much of a problem for our young relationship.
Back to the present, December 2013. I changed from 5th to 2nd gear! I moved from Seville to the middle of the countryside and I spend my day either working for a small publisher or developing yoga therapy for multiple sclerosis. And I even occasionally do NOTHING!
So what is the verdict? How did 2013 go?
On the whole, I would say that it went pretty well although I often miss being in a city and still worry a bit about financial stability. Looking back however, I realise how dramatically things changed for me and how I learned to let go – albeit reluctantly. So it is possible to change after all!
One key event in 2013 was that I graduated in Advanced Yoga Teacher Training with the Paramanand Yoga Research Institute in India and realised how much I want to help people with MS. It is in my guts, in my heart, in my head.
I had taught yoga for MS before, based on my own experience and brilliant book and DVDs, but the Yoga Therapy and Ayurveda training in Paramanand helped me put the pieces together. I learned to view MS from a different perspective, which offers so much more possibilities and makes far more sense!
Yoga Therapy has so much to offer for people with MS to make their life easier. And although it is still at its infancy in Europe, I have no doubt it will flourish here too.
Something else happened in India. Something i still haven’t fully worked out. Maybe it is the magic of India… In any case, I let go of some very deep rooted fears too. Is that why my teacher gave me the name Maa Mukta, which means Liberated?
Thanks to my amazing partner’s ecouragements, I decided to give Yoga Therapy for MS more time and energy. I published an article in a French yoga magazine, I created a website. I recorded a series of yoga videos for ekhartyoga.com, I have a yoga therapy retreat planned for March and a few more projects in the making…
So what about December 2014? Where will I be? What will I do? Will I move away again? Will I help people with MS? Who knows?
What about my new goals? For the first time in years, I don’t really feel like setting goals for the future. I want to focus on NOW but I will try to follow my teacher’s advice, that is to develop yoga therapy for MS to help others and not for my own sake to feel better about myself or for the sake of knowledge. And que sera, sera!
I wish you all a very happy NOW time (forever)!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

“Le changement n’est pas à craindre,
mais à accueillir les bras ouverts.
Car sans changement, rien ne pousserait ni ne fleurirait dans ce monde.
Personne n’avancerait pour devenir la personne qu’il ou elle est supposé(e) être.

(Inconnu)

FrenchLe Nouvel An approche. C’est l’heure de passer l’année en revue. Comme Miss Sophie dans le « Dinner For One », je suis la même procédure, sauf que la mienne est différente J. Je passe en revue – j’évalue – et je me fixe de nouveaux objectifs, ce qui constitue les étapes clé de l’apprentissage tout au long de la vie !
Retournons à décembre 2012. J’étais alors en Espagne depuis six mois, à Séville. Par peur d’être sans emploi, j’avais deux postes `a plein temps, un comme Learning Designer dans une grande maison d’édition et un comme rédactrice d’un magazine. Et en plus, j’assurais des cours de yoga entre deux ! Heureusement mon partenaire était encore plus occupé et mon manque de disponibilité ne posait pas trop de problèmes dans notre jeune relation.
Retour au présent, décembre 2013. Je suis passée de la 5ème à la 2ème vitesse. J’ai déménagé de Séville et habite en pleine campagne. Je partage mes journées entre un emploi pour une petite maison d’édition et le développement de cours de yoga thérapie pour la SEP. Il m’arrive même de ne RIEN faire !
Alors, quel est le verdict ? Comme s’est passée l’année 2013 ? Dans l’ensemble, je dirais « plutôt bien » même si vivre en ville me manque souvent et même si les questions de stabilité financière me préoccupent toujours. En regardant en arrière, je réalise à quel point les changements de 2013 ont été importants pour moi! Et surtout, j’ai appris – avec réticence certes – à laisser aller. Il est donc possible de changer !
Un facteur clé en 2013 a été la formation niveau avancé de prof de Yoga que j’ai suivie `a l’institut de recherche Paramanand en Inde. Je me suis alors rendue compte à quel point j’ai envie d’aider les personnes qui ont une SEP. Je ressens ce désir dans les tripes, dans le cœur, dans la tête ! J’ai enseigné le yoga pour la SEP avant, en me basant sur ma propre expérience et sur des livres et des DVD formidables mais la formation en yoga thérapie et en Âyurveda à l’Institut Paramanand m’a aidé à finir le puzzle. J’ai appris à appréhender la SEP d’une autre manière, ce qui offre de nombreuses possibilités thérapeutiques. La yoga thérapie a tant à offrir pour rendre la vie des personnes atteintes d’une SEP plus facile ! Bien qu’elle n’en soit qu’à ses débuts en Europe, je suis convaincue que la yoga thérapie est promis à un bel avenir.
Autre chose est arrivé en Inde. Quelque chose que je n’ai pas encore complètement élucidé… mais qui m’a permis de vaincre des peurs très profondément ancrées en moi. Est-ce pour cela que mon professeur de yoga m’a donné comme nom « Maa Mukta » qui signifie « Libérée » ?
Grâce aux encouragements de mon formidable partenaire, j’ai décidé de consacrer plus de temps et d’énergie à la yoga thérapie pour la SEP. J’ai rédigé un article pour un magazine de yoga en France, j’ai créé un site web, j’ai enregistré des vidéos pour le site ekhartyoga.com. J’ai organisé une retraite en Espagne en mars 2014. Et je travaille sur d’autres projets…
Qu’en est-il de décembre 2014 ? Où serai-je ? Aurais-je de nouveau déménagé ? Aiderai-je les personnes atteintes d’une SEP ? Qui sait ? Quels sont mes objectifs ? Pour la première fois depuis des années, je n’ai pas envie de me fixer de nouveaux objectifs. Je veux me concentrer sur le PRÉSENT but je vais essayer de suivre les conseils de mon professeur et développer la yoga thérapie pour la SEP pour les autres, et non pour moi, non pas pour me sentir mieux ou pour l’amour de la connaissance. Et ensuite, que sera, sera !
Je vous souhaite à tous un excellent moment PRÉSENT (toujours) !

4 Responses to “2013: A Yogic Year in Review”

  1. Angela Kristiansen December 28, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    I love this. Thank you!

  2. Jeanneclaire Probst December 29, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    I believe that we accomplish the greatest parts of our goals for the year when we take the focus off ourselves and do what we can to help others. Even if we don’t get our second book published, don’t get to travel as we wish, we can always look back at the efforts we made to comfort another human being….it is a success story in the making and the satisfaction we reap will never fail us. Jeanne Claire Probst, Author

    • tamingthewalrus December 29, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      I agree! I wish you all the best for 2014 (and will check your Facebook Page Fifteen Houses!!!)

Leave a Reply

