India – L’Inde

24 Mar

Rishikesh, India

“My quill is now silent. My desire subdued. Let’s burn the incense in the cup filled with myrrh and jasmine. Thus, like flowers in my garden, the poem in my heart will grow. “ (my own translation of a French passage in a video from http://www.maroma.com)

Yoga led me to India. But in my mind, all the beautiful colours, the breathtaking landscapes, the dark yet radiant eyes were mixed up with the intolerable inequalities and the ugliness of dire poverty.  Would I be strong enough psychologically to absorb it all? Would I be strong enough physically to acclimatize?

My friends thought I was courageous to set about travelling on my own, with my friend the Walrus as only company. But against all expectations, she let the perfumes of India drift her away. She only woke up several weeks upon my return, annoyed to have to face the Irish rain and wind.

I came back with new friends, warm memories and a previous little bottle of essential oils. As soon as I open the small bottle, I’m by the Ganga again. I consumed its content little by little, sparingly. I let the sweetness of Palmarosa soothe my senses and the wooded scent of Vetyver and Cedarwood revitalize my body.

I also came back stronger. I know that my Walrus friend stepped aside in front of my determination. After 12 years together, we have come to respect each other’s strengths. I acknowledge her existence. I follow her rules as long as they are for the best but I will not let her take my dreams away.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 « Ma plume est silencieuse. Mon désir est éteint. Allumons l’encens dans la coupe emplie de myrrhe et de jasmin. Ainsi telles les fleurs dans mon jardin, le poème dans mon cœur grandira. » (extrait d’une vidéo de http://www.maroma.com)

J’ai rapporté de mon voyage en Inde un gel douche aux huiles essentielles : palmarosa, vétiver, gingembre, cèdre Himalaya, verveine des Indes, Ylang ylang… Dès que j’ouvre le petit flacon, je me retrouve aux bords du Ganges.

Mon désir d’aller en Inde m’est venu par le biais du yoga. Mais toutes ces couleurs magnifiques, ces paysages à vous couper le souffle, ces regards à la fois sombres et lumineux se mélangeaient dans mon esprit aux inégalités intolérables et à la laideur de l’extrême pauvreté. Serais-je assez solide psychologiquement pour tout assimiler ? Serais-je assez solide physiquement pour m’acclimater ?

Mes amis m’ont trouvée courageuse d’entreprendre un tel voyage, avec pour seule compagne mon amie la morse. Mais contre toute attente, celle-ci se laissa bercer par les parfums de l’Inde et ne se réveilla que plusieurs semaines après mon retour, contrariée de devoir affronter le vent et la pluie irlandaises.

Je suis revenue de ce séjour avec de nouveaux amis, des souvenirs et un précieux petit flacon d’huiles essentielles. Dès que je l’ouvre, je me retrouve aux bords du Ganges. Je le consomme petit à petit, avec parcimonie. Je laisse alors la douceur de la palmarosa et de la verveine des Indes apaiser mes sens et les senteurs boisées du vétiver et du cèdre revitaliser mon corps.

Je suis aussi revenue de ce séjour plus forte. Je sais que mon amie la morse s’est effacée devant ma détermination. Après 12 ans de vie commune, nous respectons nos forces mutuelles. Je reconnais son existence. Je suis ses règles lorsqu’elles sont justifiées mais jamais je ne la laisserai me voler mes rêves.

2 Responses to “India – L’Inde”

  1. Mairead March 26, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    I guess I am now hooked. How beautiful you bring this to us all in the two languages.

    • tamingthewalrus March 26, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      And I guess I’m hooked to the blogging world now…

Leave a Reply

