The big question – “LA” question

23 Mar

As soon as I mentioned having MS, he offered to try out some NLP or PNI techniques. Both were totally unknown to me and I don’t think I would have tried – not at this stage anyway – if it hadn’t been with him.
So here we are, in my old Georgian apartment overlooking one of the nicest squares in town. Ready for my first guided imagery. I’m lying down, trying to relax. I close my eyes and listen to his voice:

“I am going to speak to you about relaxation, about comfort so your mind can drift off to enjoy a new experience… You don’t have to say anything at any time, just listen.”

No need to answer questions, I think. That sounds easy…  So I follow. I breathe. I relax. I let go. We move on to a beautiful garden… I recall the fountain in the middle of the garden, the sound of the water and the cool sensation as I plunge my hand.

“Do you feel the warmth of the sun’s light?” He asks.
I do. I also feel the gentle breeze on my skin.
“Maybe you can imagine lying down on the soft grass.” He suggests.
It’s such a wonderful idea. The earth is warm underneath my clothes. I feel supported and allow my mind to wander for a while.
“I want you to think about your MS now”. He says.
Oh.
“What do you get out of it?”
Sorry?
“What does it bring you? Do you get more attention now? Is it an excuse to work less?”
Is he really asking that? I’m flabbergasted.
“Think about it. Be honest with yourself.”
I’m confused. Does he know what MS is? MS doesn’t bring anything – it takes things away, doesn’t it? Or does it?
Ok. I wouldn’t mind some extra attention from some people…Maybe I won’t need to finish my thesis now…
I feel like a stripper in front of a mirror, taking off all the layers.
It takes ages. Then he asks:
“ Are you ready to give all these up? Do you want to get healed? Is that your sincere wish?”
Yes I do.

Although this first session didn’t go as I expected, I’m glad he asked me these questions. I remember them when I’m tempted to surrender to my walrus. MS is not curable but I can still be healed…

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Dès que j’ai mentionné avoir une SEP, il a proposé d’essayer quelques techniques de PNL ou de PNI. Je ne connaissais ni l’une ni l’autre et j’ai seulement accepté parce que c’était lui !
Nous voici donc, dans mon appartement géorgien donnant sur un des plus beaux parcs de la ville. Prêts pour ma première visualisation guidée. Je suis allongée et essaie de me détendre. Je ferme les yeux et écoute sa voix.
« Je vais te parler de relaxation et de confort pour que ton esprit se détende et profite de cette nouvelle expérience… Tu n’as pas à parler, à aucun moment. Ecoute simplement. »
Pas besoin de répondre à des questions, me dis-je. Ça me semble facile… Je le suis donc. Je respire, Je me détends. Nous allons dans un magnifique jardin… Je me souviens de la fontaine en son centre, du bruit de l’eau et de la sensation de fraicheur lorsque je plonge la main.
« Sens-tu la chaleur des rayons de soleil ? » me demande-t-il.
Oui. Et je sens aussi la brise légère m’effleurer.
« Tu pourrais peut-être imaginer que tu t’allonges sur l’herbe douce », suggère-t-il.
C’est une idée tellement séduisante. Mes vêtements laissent passer la chaleur de la terre. Je me sens soutenue, épaulée et je laisse mon esprit vagabonder un moment.
« Je voudrais que tu penses à la SEP maintenant » me dit-il.
Oh.
« Qu’est-ce qu’elle t’apporte ? »
Pardon ?
« Qu’est ce que tu en tires ? Reçois-tu plus d’attention ? Est-ce une excuse pour travailleur moins ? »
Est-il vraiment en train de me poser ces questions ? Je suis estomaquée.
« Penses-y. Sois honnête avec toi-même. »
Je suis confuse. Est-ce qu’il sait ce qu’est la SEP ? La SEP n’apporte rien – elle prend tout, n’est-ce pas ? Ou bien..
Ok. Ça ne me déplairait pas d’avoir un peu plus souvent l’attention de certaines personnes… Peut-être que je n’aurai pas besoin de finir ma thèse…
J’ai l’impression d’être une strip-teaseuse devant un miroir, retirant chaque épaisseur, l’une après l’autre…
Ça dure une éternité. Il demande alors :
« Es-tu prête à abandonner tous ces avantages ? Veux-tu vraiment guérir ? Est-ce ton vœux le plus sincère ?»
Oui.

La première session ne s’est pas déroulée comme je l’imaginais. Pourtant, je suis heureuse qu’il m’ait posé ces questions. Je m’en souviens quand la tentation est grande de m’abandonner à la morse. La SEP est incurable mais je peux tout de même guérir.

4 Responses to “The big question – “LA” question”

  1. Mairead March 26, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    This is beautiful honest stuff. I love the simplicity in your expression, and the pure honesty shines through. I can already feel as I read your blog that this will not only help others with an illness, but will inspire them. Thank you. Mairéad.

    • tamingthewalrus March 26, 2012 at 10:01 am #

      I would never have started this blog if you hadn’t motivated me Mairead!MERCI

  2. mariekeegan00 May 16, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    Wow!…what a blog,Ive only read a few entries but already its leaving its footsteps on my heart.Thank you for STRIPPING!

Leave a Reply

